Renovation of the historic manor house that is part of the Cistercian abbey farm . The spatial arrangement of the manor house and the interiors have been restored under the supervision of the Conservation Officer with the utmost diligence and attention to detail. The restored interior features a work of art and antique furniture from the period. The property and adjacent to the Oliwa Park stand as a monument of nature to be protected , is under the care of DORACO Building Corporation.
Saltzmann manor – history
The origins of the manor house dates back to 1760. Its construction was commissioned by Jacek Rybiński , the then abbot of the Cistercian monastery. Country house with development activity is located in the northern part of Oliwa park and was designated as the seat of the gardener and designer of Oliwa gardens – Kazimierz Dębiński . The area was a vast farm just as the abbey park .
After the death of Jack Rybiński, the new abbot of Oliwa was Prince Karl von Hohenzollern- Hechingen , a cousin of the King of Prussia . The new abbot very interested in the monastery , and all his attention was focused on the palace and park. Therefore, in 1794, brought the olive another outstanding gardener – Johann Georg Saltzmanna Nicolas , who lived in the mansion.
Johann Saltzmann came from a family garden – was the son of the court gardener in Charlottenburg.
New gardener changed terrain abbey gardens by dump artificial hills and creating picturesque valleys . Existing joints given the irregular shoreline. In this way, the part of the English garden , referring to the natural landscape gardens . Saltzmann their achievements impressed not only Oliva brothers of the monastery. Gdańsk owes him a beautiful restoration of the park – Labyrinth ( no longer exists ) and the development of the hill Kahlsberg (today Cone ) . In addition, expanded facilities Farmstead abbey .
Posterity in recognition Saltzmanna called his name street extending from the north side of the park – Saltzmannstraße – now street Opacka that gardener cast on both sides with trees .
In 1854 Abbot Farm was purchased by the family ownership Saltzmann , and it houses the new buildings were created economic and residential .
After the war the house was taken over by the State and used by the building company heady .
At the end of the twentieth century, heavily damaged and vandalized the property was leased by the company Doraco , who undertook a major renovation mansion. In 2002 the manor house became her property.
In 2013, initiated a restoration of the old farm building and creating gardens that are used to complement the abbey gardens , and today Oliwa Park . Gardens will be generally available to residents.
Jerzy Samp in his book ” Gdansk mansions and palaces ” (published Mapress Gdańsk ) writes about the mansion :
” Manor House was built at the initiative of the abbot Jack Rybiński in the northern part of Oliwa Park around 1760 . Was a house originally designed for enjoying a well-deserved reputation Casimir Dębiński gardener who designed the south – western part of the park.
This brick , basement structure , built on a rectangular plan . On the north side is decorated with the projection and front porch supported on six columns.
On the south side leads into the court hall.
The facade is decorated with the northern two-storey projection topped by a triangular tympanum .
The courtyard survived two different bars przedprożowe the beginning of the eighteenth century , one of which , more than decorative initials , is dated 1715 . ”